Six Feet Above

I walk, amidst the bushes,

Under the sky in black shutters covered

Along the path laid out,

By those who before me walked:

Anticipating, generations to come.

 

I walk, stealthily,

Not wanting to wake the sleeping,

Resting from the battle hard fought

Looking forward for dawn,

When their reward they’ll receive.

 

I walk, fast,

Afraid of being left alone,

Lest the invisible creatures of the night prowling,

Get hold of me,

And my heart devour.

 

I contemplate as I walk,

The mystery of the crosses around me,

(stuck to the ground)

Above the heads of those who battles fought,

With their arms around it, embracing;

And the flowers that signify their toil,

Now above their heads, lie withered.

 

A block of stone now before me stands,

The ground is soft, soil freshly laid,

I bend, upon my end achieved

And pay tribute to my father’s grave,

The inscription above the stone engraved:

“Once I was, where now you stand,

Six Feet Above!”

2 thoughts on “Six Feet Above

  1. Leo Rex says:

    “The inscription above the stone engraved:
    “Once I was, where now you stand,
    Six Feet Above!””
    I love that and the title. a little sad i didnt think of it first 😛 lol

Slap something on the Blank Canvas

